top of page

Chapter 3- A new chapter in my life

“You have to understand how it happened. So that when I tell you I didn't, and still don't want anything to do with playing hero that you will believe me. You have to understand, from my perspective this was anything but what I wanted; I was the geeky guy who knew what he wanted out of life. I was the kid that played Dentist not super heroes, and as I grew older I became THAT kid; the one that studied during the summer, didn't play sports and I dreamt of a nice boring life fixing peoples teeth.” She looked at him incredulously. So he knew she didn’t believe him.

“That's right I didn't just play Dentist, I wanted to become one. Go ahead and laugh but I was laughed at by all the boys so I'm used to it.”

“What happened after that Jonathon?” She asked after a moment.

“After the Ferris wheel incident?” He smiled. “I did everything I could over the next few years to avoid situations that might put me in that position again. I dumped Kristen, yes I know that was a stupid thing to do but I felt that staying with her would only result in yet another event or her finding out; I imagined that she would react with either disbelief and leave me or that she would someone try to take advantage of it. What can I say, at the time I thought about who she was and thought the worst of her? No, it was not my most charming moment.”

Scribbling a few notes, she nodded as though to indicate for him to continue.

“I didn't become a recluse like you might think though, I still dated, which wasn't that much -- but suddenly I was the guy who never went out any one girl for very long. The minute I thought I saw reckless tendencies I broke up with them.” He said with a harsh laugh. “I even lost a few of my minimal friends for those little stunts, but I couldn't risk having something happen and that was the only way I felt I could avoid it. Would you have done the same? Probably not, not many people are like me; hell no one is to be honest. After a few years of this I eventually relaxed on my paranoia and settled into a life where I didn't date, and focused entirely on what was about to happen: Graduation.”

“Why did that scare you?” She asked. She was chewing on the end of her pencil, he hated when people did that.

“I already knew where I was going to college, I had been accepted and I was getting more and more nervous about what awaited me in the curriculum there over what "accidents" might happen. What can I say…I was a nerd?” He replied curtly.

Sorry, I am a nerd.

"College bound and I had no idea what I was getting myself into."

bottom of page